Manheim Township High School Library : Macbeth

A beautifully illustrated reference that provides a deeper understanding of Shakespeare and his time. Some four centuries after they were written, William Shakespeare's plays and poems still delight audiences and readers worldwide, and together form one of our cultural touchstones. The profound themes and beautiful language speak to us across time and place, and the story of how a boy from rural England became the "soul of the age" continues to intrigue. The Shakespeare Encyclopedia is an authoritative, visually exciting, and entertaining guide to all things Shakespeare, explaining the themes, plots, and contexts of his works, their literary and cultural significance, and uncovering some of the mystery of the man himself. Sumptuously presented reference to all of Shakespeare's plays and poems. Covers both the life and the writings of Shakespeare. Contains plot summaries and character lists for each play. Examines every history, comedy, tragedy, and romance in the Shakespeare canon, including the "lost plays." Explores Shakespeare's poems and sonnets, and the themes, allusions, and imagery he used. Written by an international team of Shakespearean scholars. Illustrated with more than 250 full-color photographs, artworks, illustrations, charts, and diagrams. Includes a comprehensive reference section. In his many plays, poems, and sonnets, William Shakespeare crafted perhaps the most accurate and enduring depictions of relationships, politics, and the human condition written in the English language. His works are read and seen by millions around the world, and the rich language, vividly drawn characters, sparkling poetry, and perceptive insights into human truths continue to have a profound influence on writers, artists, and filmmakers. The Shakespeare Encyclopedia is a stimulating and accessible guide to all of Shakespeare's known works, as well as to the man himself. Part One focuses on Shakespeare's life, placing him firmly in his time, a period of rapid religious, cultural, and economic change, and reveals why his works are so universally appealing. Part Two looks at each of his 38 plays-every history, comedy, tragedy, and romance, from the well known (Hamlet, Othello, A Midsummer Night's Dream) to the obscure (King John, Pericles, Cymbeline). Part Three examines Shakespeare's poetry, both the long narrative poems and the sonnets-some of the best-loved verse in the English language. Throughout this volume, text, diagrams, and images combine to enrich our understanding of Shakespeare's timeless literary creations. Each work's themes, imagery, language, and historical context are examined and discussed in accessible language, while sidebars give at-a-glance information on plots, characters, sources, settings, and famous quotations. In addition, detailed diagrams, charts, and tables throw light on the plays' characters and their interrelationships, and illustrate the true history behind the plots. Finally, carefully selected images of stage and film productions, from different cultures and historical periods, convey the drama, pathos, and humor that suffuse Shakespeare's works.

Each volume of Drama for Students features coverage of 14 to 15 plays most frequently studied in literature classes. Each detailed entry includes an introduction that provides an overview of the play; a brief biography of the playwright; a plot summary; a discussion of the play's principal themes; understandable essays on the play's construction; excerpted critical commentary; and much more.

More than 200 articles, most accompanied by vivid illustrations, combine rich historical detail with informative, insightful descriptions on the form and function of obscure and everyday items found in Shakespeare's works.

An archetypal story of the dangers of lusting for power, Macbeth is Shakespeare's stark tale of a tormented nobleman driven into a murderous plot by his ambition to assume the throne of Scotland. This invaluable new study guide to one of Shakespeare's greatest tragedies contains a selection of the finest criticism through the centuries on Macbeth, including commentaries by such important critics as Elizabeth Montagu, Samuel Taylor Coleridge, Thomas DeQuincey, John Berryman, Cleanth Brooks, and many others. Students will also benefit from the additional features in this volume, including an introduction by Harold Bloom, an accessible summary of the plot, an analysis of several key passages, a comprehensive list of characters, a biography of Shakespeare, essays discussing the main currents of criticism in each century since Shakespeare's time, and more. Book jacket.

This set contains in-depth analytical reference guides to the major writers of world literature. This 8 volume set contains 602 essays that discuss individual dramatists and cover overview topics. Authors covered represent all time periods and all areas of the world. Each essay contains birth and death dates, a list of the author's major dramatic works, a brief survey of the author's publications in literary forms other than drama, and a summary of the writer's professional achievements and awards. An extended biographical sketch centers on the writer's development. Following this discussion is a list of major publication in fields other than drama and an annotated bibliography of critical works about the author.